Skip to main content


Don Dobson Memorial Award

Don DobsonTo be awarded each year at convention to the club that is judged to be most deserving of recognition and praise for its efforts in land use activities during the past year.

Don was a major force in land use issues and became an important liaison between his club, our association, and land management through his part-time work with the Sheriff's Department and the Forest Service, and influencing decisions on many trails throughout the Central District. Don was an original member of the 4 Wheel Drive Club of Fresno as well as a charter member and dedicated life member of the association. He was very active in our sport and served as the Central District Vice President several times. Don was loved and respected by all who knew him.

Land use is an activity where a club working with land management agencies leads to opening or maintaining access to a motorized recreation opportunity.

An example would be club representatives attending meetings and providing comments that lead to a route being opened to motorized recreation or working with an agency to promote trail safety.

All clubs throughout the State shall be considered for this award.

An essay detailing the club land use activities must be submitted to the Sacramento Office by December 31st of the year.

Don Dobson trophyWinners

  • 1977 Tierra Del Sol
  • 1978 Mendocino Sheriff's Patrol
  • 1979 Toyota Land Cruisers
  • 1980 4WD Club of Fresno
  • 1981 Sacramento Valley Varmints
  • 1982 Sacramento Jeepers
  • 1983 Toyota Landcruiser of Ventura
  • 1984 Riverside Ruff Riders
  • 1985 Clovis 4x4
  • 1988 Victor Valley 4 Wheelers
  • 1989 Bakersfield Trailblazers
  • 1990 Bakersfield Trailblazers
  • 1991 4WD Club of Fresno
  • 1992 Rat Pack
  • 1993 High Rock Trekkers
  • 1994 Bakersfield Trailblazers
  • 1995 High Rock Trekkers
  • 1996 Sacramento Jeepers
  • 1997 Lost Coast 4WD Club
  • 1998 Mud, Sweat & Gears
  • 1999 4WD Club of Fresno
  • 2000 Sierra Treasure Hunters
  • 2002 Grass Valley 4 Wheelers
  • 2003 Sierra Treasure Hunters
  • 2004 Esprit De Four
  • 2005 Sierra Treasure Hunters
  • 2006 Capital City Mountain Goats
  • 2009 Hi-Landers
  • 2012 Clovis Independent 4-Wheelers
  • 2013 Tierra Del Sol
  • 2014 Tierra Del Sol
  • 2015 Eastern Sierra 4x4 Club
  • 2016 Clovis Independent 4-Wheelers
  • 2017 Tierra Del Sol
  • 2018 Joaquin Jeepers
  • 2019 Mendocino 4x4 Club
  • 2020 Gear Grinders 4 Wheel Drive Club
  • 2021 Kingsburg Four Wheel Drive Club
  • 2022 Mendocino 4x4 Club